A Heartbreaking Book: If I Stay

Hello!

Slide1

I had already read this. I read it on February 2016 and still, it remains my favorite book ever and by far, this is the best I’ve read. Even though this is pretty late and it’s been months since I read this, I would love to review this book because it is such a good! So, may I present, If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Note: For those who didn’t read the introduction, I know this is super late and I had read this book months ago but the book was just so great so I decided to review it!

Slide2

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make. [Taken from Goodreads]

If I Stay is one hell of a book. It was a roller coaster journey  when I was reading this book. I felt sadness, the romance in the books and happiness. It’s a very beautiful book that touches your heart. It makes you feel a lot of emotions reading this. Let us just devote our time to clap our hands for Gayle Forman because she had written one of the most beautiful books humanity ever read.

Mia Hall, the main character of this book, was an interesting character and one of the unique ones. First of all, she is a musician, a cello player specifically. I had never encountered a character like this before and I love it. Also, she’s very loving towards her loved ones. The book really showed how she’s so caring to her family, friends and her boyfriend. I am not saying that she’s perfect though. Also her character is very realistic. Nice job Gayle Forman. There was this moment in the book where she just want to die because her parents died, her little brother died [Oh, a tear just dropped] and that’s so realistic. If I’m in her situation, I would want to die too.

Adam Wilde, one of the prominent character in the book and Mia’s boyfriend, is also an interesting character. He is a band member, the vocalist of their band and a composer and wow, these book characters are unique. He’s also very caring about Mia but of course, he’s flawed. He’s so flawed and realistic. [I wouldn’t focus much on him because the plot revolves around Mia]

if i stay 2
“We are like Humpty Dumpty and all these king’s horses and all these king’s men cannot put us back together again”

First of all, the book is a framed story. If you don’t know, framed story is a story inside a story. in this case, the external story in the book was Mia deciding whether she’ll go or she’ll stay and the inner stories was her memories of her parents, friends and boyfriend.

I really love the plot of the book and the book being a framed story makes me love it more. It’s genius or clever that there inner stories and the main story itself and it develops the characters of the book.Also, I love how music has an importance in the story. Music was the thing that connected both Mia and Adan and even her parents.

Also, let me insert how Mia’s and Adam’s relationship to each other was so realistic. They are not the perfect couple [and some romance story always has the perfect relationship]. They’re relationship has difficulties. They quarrel an fight and have misunderstandings and that is just so real. Gayle Forman must have a difficulty making this relationship realistic.

if i stay 1
“People believe what they want to believe”

Let me just say that Gayle Forman’s writing style was just so good. It is something to be envious. If I could steal someone’s writing style, I would steal hers because it is just so good! She delivers the intense and heavy emotions that is needed and she makes you feel a lot of emotions.

If I Stay is a heartbreaking and emotional book and it is definitely something to read. It’s achingly beautiful, very touching and it brought me into tears. I recommend it to everyone because this book is great.

I hope you enjoyed this book review. Until next time

Goodbye,
Jerrod

Twitter / Tumblr / Instagram / Pinterest / The Artsitics

PS I had read the sequel to this book but I’m not sure if I’ll review it because same as this book, I had read this months ago.

PSS Oooh, the format of my book review had changed!

9 thoughts on “A Heartbreaking Book: If I Stay

  1. I also think that the idea of the story was really good and Forman’s writing skills are great BUT somewhere in between the story, some strings felt really loose that made it less appealing somewhat.

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?

