A Tearjerker Book: Wonder

Hello!

First of all, thank you to my friend for lending me this wonderful [no pun intended, i swear!] book. Second, I’m so excited to review this book and share my thoughts. It’s a  lovely book and the best book I’ve read. It’s Wonder by RJ Palacio!

slide2

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

As I said, Wonder is the best book I’ve read so far. It’s a beautiful story about a kid named August who has a face abnormality. He’s been homeschool and now, he’s entering 5th Grade at Beecher Prep. It’s well written, very unique character and a realistic and interesting plot.

The book is told from 6 perspectives: August (or Auggie), Via (Auggie’s sister), Miranda (Via’s and Auggie’s friend), Justin (Via’s boyfriend), Jack (Auggie’s friend), and Summer (Auggie’s friend too). Each of the perspectives are different and has a distinct voice. it’s not the same. It’s risky when books have different perspecitves because sometimes, the perspective doesn’t have distinct voices and it’s all the same. Also, I think it’s a good thing that there are different perspectives because I had the chance to know more about Auggie’s life because each each perspective shared its own insight about Auggie and I also had the chance to know the character more and know the story.

A thing I appreciated about the characters is that they have their backstories and character development and I feel very connected to each character. Also, I love Auggie’s character so much. His humor and intelligence won over my heart.

14316018_120300000121329862_908874615_o

A thing I appreciated about the book is that every character has a flaw and you can see it in the book. It’s boring for me when characters seems perfect. Also, RJ Palacio “gets” kids. You can see in the books that the perspective are from kids and teens and not from adults and wow, that’s amazing. It’s not easy for a writer to capture how kids thinks and acts.

Another thing I loved about this book is that there’s a balance between humor and pathos and I love it. I was worried because I think this book would be so emotional and I don’t want that because it’s a story about a kid, not an adult but thank goodness, there’s humor in this book. The humor balances the heavy emotions in the book.

Also, because the book contains both humor and heavy emotion, this book wasn’t easy to read. My emotions change constantly from sadness and pity to happy and joyful and repeat but I quite like it. Reading this book was like a roller coaster ride. There were some twist and turns from the book and my emotions.

14273487_120300000121570051_1290269838_o

What’s really important about this book is the moral, the lesson in it. Never judge a book by its cover. I know that quote is very cliche but it applies on the book. It shows that we shouldn’t judge someone based on how they look like because what’s really important is what’s inside. I know it’s cliche again but it’s true.

Wonder is a memorable book that touches your heart and will leave a mark there. I cannot see a problem about this book and  I can’t believe it’s RJ Palacio’s first book! Do I recommend it to everyone? Hell yeah! I guarantee you that this will be the best book you’ve ever read.

I hope you enjoyed that review. Also, yay for Monday because we don’t have classes on Monday!

Goodbye,
Jerrod

Twitter / Tumblr / Instagram / Pinterest / The Artistics

12 thoughts on “A Tearjerker Book: Wonder

  1. I’ve seen this book EVERYWHERE! And it’s kinda the reason why I never finished it off. I started the book and it’s not that I didn’t like it or anything; In fact, I was enjoying it so much that I couldn’t think it was anything but boring. It was just that everyone was saying it was gonna be the best book ever, I just felt like I didn;t want the book to disappoint me so left it! I’m weird, I make no sense!

    P.S Sorry for my ramblings!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this book when it first came out and it really turned how I looked at things at eleven! It’s a really good book that everyone should read, it’s a book that could change the opinion of a lot of people in the world 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?

