Unexpectedly Brilliant: The Sun is Also A Star

Hello!

I would like to thank my friend for lending this book to me even though you still haven’t read it. Second, let me just say that this is such a brilliant book and I didn’t expect it to be this amazing (I initially thought that this will be bad). I’m excited to review this so shall we start?

book

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? [Goodreads]

When I saw the book from my classmate’s desk, I was very skeptical about it because I want to read it but I’m scared that I would waste my time to read it because it’s bad but I still borrowed it and guess what: I’m not disappointed at all. I loved the book SO MUCH! It’s probably one of my favorite reads this 2016!

The character are probably the best asset in this book! In the book, the main character is Natasha, a Jamaican girl waiting to be deported and she believes in facts, and Daniel, a Korean-American poet. I love how this book promotes diversity in race and I seriously appreciate it. Also, the characters we’re well established! This is probably the reason why I love the book. Daniel was first presented with a backstory of him and his family and this backstory progresses through the book until we truly know him and same with Natasha.

15310845_120300000981461450_1137441771_o

What’s very random with the book is that it includes chapter about the minor characters that shouldn’t even affect the story but did! I think that’s just amazing and being honest, that blew my mind off because it develops the story more!

The plot was so simple but that makes it special. It doesn’t need something very extravagant to make it special. Although I love the part, I need to be honest to myself that it’s kinda weird (at least for me) especially the part where Daniel met Natasha. That certain part was weird for me.

15321468_120300000979812852_2071836504_o

As this book is romance, I need to talk about the chemistry and all stuff about romance. The romance was just amazing. I didn’t expect that. Daniel and Natasha are very different characters. Daniel believes in fate, destiny, etc and Natasha didn’t, just pure facts, so I was questioning if this would work and it did! The dynamic was so great between them!

This book is a must read for everyone! It was the best romance novel I read! I hope you enjoyed that review and I’ll see you soon!

Bye!

2 thoughts on “Unexpectedly Brilliant: The Sun is Also A Star

Any thoughts?

