Not Enough: Red Queen

Hello.

Before reading this post, I want to make a quick promotion. You know I run an online mag/group blog called The Artistics! It’s a medium for us to express our creativity. Well, we’re holding a member search! If you’re interested in joining us, click HERE!

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a book review. My last book review was a review to The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon (which I loved) which was published at January. That long huh?

Today, I’ll be reviewing Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. My friend has been recommending this since last year and I actually want to read it. I heard a lot of good reviews about it and my friend has been crazy about it but the problem. When I finished this book, I was a bit disappointed. I thought it was pretty average.

Slide2

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart. {Goodreads}

As I said, I felt that this book was just “surface level”. The concept of the book is cliche and I didn’t like Mare Barrow, the main character, that much. The story was a slow paced but it surprised me in the end.

As said, I didn’t like Mare Barrow. Her opinion about how the Silvers always oppressed the Red and use them is repetitive which makes it so annoying! Also, her attitude got a bit irritating. I could understand why she feels these kind of things and emotions but it’s sometimes annoying. One thing I liked is that how the author evidently showed that Mare isn’t a perfect character- she’s flawed which makes her realistic.

Cal and Maven are characters that I liked. They both showed insights on how Silver lives. Their relationship with one another is pretty realistic with all the sibling rivalry. Kilorn was not a character I liked. Although,without him, the story wouldn’t even exist but Kilorn is like a Gale (Hunger Games) equivalent of this book which I don’t like.

18578477_120300003832851177_817006396_n

The concept of this story is cliche but I do like how the society is split into two – Reds and Silvers. It feels like a mix of X-Men plus Divergent plus Game of Thrones. I love those but if you combine them, you’ll get a cliche book but to be honest, it didn’t bother me at all.

The plot was inconsistent. At first it was interesting then it became slow paced, which I have problems with, then it got intense. The action parts at later end of the book was my favorite. I was on the edge of my sit.

It’s also great that we got to see how the world and society of this book is trying to portray. In the next book, I wish it could be expanded more.

18624440_120300003827377672_6682697_n

I have mix emotions with the writing. The writing was average but I can still understand what it’s trying to say and express but sometimes, I don’t get what’s happening especially the Queenstrial part.

There’s a lot of flaws about Red Queen but still, I liked it but I didn’t think it was great or a book to be on my Top 5 but do I recommend this? Of course! Will I reread it? Yes! I give this book 3.5 stars.

I hope you enjoyed reading this book review. Also, if you’re interested in joining our group in The Artistic, make sure to go to The Artistics blog, don’t be shy! I’ll see you soon, bye!

Any thoughts?

