Spectacular: Finding Audrey

Hello!

I’ve been wanting this book since last year so I put it on my Christmas wishlist. Guess what? I received this book on Christmas from my grandparents. I finished this book on one sitting (yes, book review delayed!) and it was fantastic!

Slide2

 

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family. {Goodreads}

I finished this book on one sitting as I can’t stop reading it. The story was so immersive with Audrey’s narration. This book tackles anxiety in a light way without disrespecting the topic which I appreciate very much!

Audrey is such an engaging narrator. She’s the reason why I find this book so interesting, why I finished this book in a span of under 10 hours and basically why I love this book! Linus is also an amazing character, kind and compassionate while still being a realistic character.

Frank, on the other hand, is such a funny character. Frank is Audrey’s gaming obsessed brother. He’s one of the reason why this book is humurous. Another reason for this book to be funny is their Mom. Their mom is comical yet still likeable.

18644345_120300003872968051_2111054394_n

But one thing I really appreciate about this book and probably the main reason why this book is lovable, light and humorous is the family dynamics. I can understand and relate to having a Mom who’s overprotective and having a brother who’s to obsessed with gaming.

As other book reviewers, I was also worried about the romance part of this book since this book also handles mental health issues. I don’t want this book to turn where love magically cure mental illness. Thank god that didn’t happen. Linus provides support for Audrey but it still takes a lot of effort for Audrey. The author acknowledge that Linus can’t solve Audrey’s problem.

18643659_120300003864208559_1767091509_n

Speaking of romance, the dynamics between Audrey and Linus are realistic. The author acknowledges that  dating isn’t easy and this is evidently shown in the book as they both experienced up and downs in their relationship.

Finding Audrey is an awesome read providing you a fresh and humorous take on mental illness. I recommend everyone on reading this if you haven’t!

I hope you enjoyed this book review! Have you read Finding Audrey? What are your thoughts about the book?

Bye!


Hey! Quick quick note that the member search on The Artistics which I repeatedly promotoed here in my blog is open until June 10 and June 10 is pretty near so if you want to join but you’re skeptical and hesistant, I encourage you join and give it a try. I assure you that this is a fair search and if you did join The Artistics, you’ll help us pursue our goal and have fun with other bloggers! Click HERE to know the details!

2 thoughts on “Spectacular: Finding Audrey

Any thoughts?

